DUNDY COUNTY STRATTON PUBLIC SCHOOLS



400 9th Avenue West • P.O. Box 586 • Benkelman, NE 69021-0586 **"Every Day...Every Child...A Success!"**



Open Sky Policy Institute (03/20/2025)

Proposed cuts to school meal programs at the federal level would create additional obstacles for access in 49 Nebraska schools, according to analysis by the Center on Budget and Policy Priorities (CBPP). The Community Eligibility Program (CEP) allows schools where there is a significant number of students from low income families to offer free meals to all students, rather than asking individual families to apply. The reimbursement from the federal government for these meals is determined by comparing other means-tested programs, like the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, to determine the total share of students experiencing poverty. Under current federal guidelines, schools can adopt CEP if at least 25% of students receive these benefits.

Congress is currently considering raising that threshold to 60%, which would impact 49 schools across 23 school districts in Nebraska, including both public and private K-12 schools. The total enrollment at these schools is 12,432 students. This would decrease the impact of CEP in Nebraska significantly, where 18% of schools participating in the school lunch program have adopted the program, reaching 70,821 students each day. Access to nutritious school meals has been found to improve concentration in the classroom and a range of other educational outcomes.

Schools and districts that would be impacted by a shift from 25% to 60% for CEP eligibility, according to CBPP:

Arapahoe Public Schools (01 school—324 students), Bancroft-Rosalie Schools (01 school—308 students), Banner County Schools (01 school—127 students), Bayard Public Schools (02 schools—344 students), Bridgeport Public Schools (01 school—448 students), **Dundy County Stratton Public Schools (02 schools—291 students)**, Elba Public Schools—(01 school—121 students), Franklin Public Schools (01 school—282 students), Gordon-Rushville Public Schools (03 schools—543 students), Grand Island Public Schools (10 school—261 students), Harvard Public Schools (01 school—269 students), Holy Name Schools (01 school—261 students), Lewiston Consolidated Schools (01 school—177 students), Minatare Public Schools (02 schools—205 students), Nelson Mandela Elementary School (01 school—207 students), North Platte Public Schools (06 schools—1,421 students), Papillion-LaVista Public Schools (05 schools—1,698 schools), Southern Public Schools (02 schools—383 students), St. Edward Public Schools (01 school—179 students), Thedford Rural Public Schools (02 schools—132 students) and Westside Community Schools (02 schools—905 students).

> Mr. Alan D. Garey Superintendent 308.423.2738 alan.garey@dcstigers.org

Mrs. Sandy O'Neil Jr. High/High School Principal 308.423.2738 soneil@dcstigers.org Mr. Kris Freeland Elementary Principal 308.423.2216 kfreeland@dcstigers.org