Seward/Saline County

Solid Waste Management Agency

P.O. Box 190, Seward NE 68434

March 30, 2023 Meeting Minutes

Present: Marvin Kohout-Saline County, Angie Ostrander-Village of Goehner, Kelli Keib-City of Milford, John Singleton-City of Seward, Jessica Bodfield-G&P Development, Jack Oelschlager-City of Crete, Roger Miller-Village of Dorchester, and Dean Bruha-City of Milford.

- 1. **Meeting was called to order** at 7:05pm by Marvin Kohout. Marvin Kohout announced the Open Meetings Act is posted and a copy is available upon request.
- 2. Roll Call was taken resulting in 21 weighted votes.
- 3. **Approval of Consent Agenda**. Kelli Keib-City of Milford moved to accept the Consent Agenda, 2nd by John Singleton-City of Seward. Motion carried.
- 4. **Minutes of the January 19, 2023:** minutes were emailed to the SSCSWMA members. Kelli Keib-City of Milford moved to accept the Consent Agenda, 2nd by John Singleton-City of Seward. Motion carried.
- 5. **Citizen's Forum**: Jessica Bodfield-G&P Development announced there are still some bins at the landfill. If you want them come get them soon.
- 6. Board Member input/comments/reports: nothing to report.
- 7. Election of 2023 Board Chair: John Singleton- City of Seward nominated John Culver as the 2023 Board Chair. 2nd by Jack Oelschlager- City of Crete. Motion Carried. John Culver was voted as the 2023 Board Chair.
- 8. Election of 2023 Vice Chair: John Singleton nominated Marvin Kohout as the 2023 Board Vice Chair. 2nd by Jack Oelschlager- City of Crete. Motion Carried. Marvin Kohout was voted as the 2023 Board Vice Chair.
- 9. Election of 2023 Board Treasurer: Dean Bruha announced that he was stepping down as Treasurer. John Singleton-City of Seward moved that the Treasurer and Secretary position be combined as one. 2nd by Kelli Keib- City of Milford. Motion carried. John Singleton- City of Seward nominated Angie Ostrander as the 2023 Board Treasurer/Secretary. 2nd by Kelli Keib- City of Milford. Motion carried. Angie Ostrander was voted as the 2023 Board Treasurer/Secretary.

10. Old Business

A. Status of Interlocal Agreements:

Angie Ostrander sent out copies of the Interlocal Agreements that still need to be signed to: City of Crete, Village of Beaver Crossing, Village of Pleasant Dale and Village of Bee. She has not heard from any of them.

B. Audit Waiver Vote:

Dean has the forms completed for the Audit Waiver to be submitted. A vote is needed to approve the Audit Waiver by the SSCSWMA Agency. John Singleton- City of Seward moved that the SSCSWMA submit an Audit Waiver to the 2022 calendar year.2nd by Kelli Keib-City of Milford. Motion carried.

11. Other Old Business: None

12. New Business

- A. Future activities/efforts/ideas: None
- B. Discussion on recycling efforts agency wide-None
- C. Other new business. Jack Oelschlager is retiring and moving to Oklahoma.

10. **Treasurer's Report:** Dean Bruha read the current Treasurer's Report. John Singleton-City of Seward moved to accept the Treasurer's Report as read, 2nd by Kelli Keib-City of Milford. Motion carried.

11.Discussion/approval of bills/claims:

Bills		
City of Milford	\$1114.00	@25% = \$278.50

Total Bill Reimbursement: \$1114.00 @25% = \$278.50

Angie Ostrander-Secretary for 1 Regular Meeting- \$149.75 Total Bills: \$428.25

John Singleton-City of Seward moved to pay the bills, 2nd by Jack Oelschlager-City of Crete. Motion carried.

13. Executive Session: NONE

14. Miscellaneous Business and Discussion

- A. Angie Ostrander has been voted as the 2023 Board Treasurer/ Secretary. She will need to be added to the SSCSWMA Checking account. Dean Bruha will need to be removed from the SSCSWMA Checking account.
- B. Since there is a new Treasurer, John Singleton- City of Seward moved that a CPA be hired to Audit the books, paid for by the SSCSWMA Agency before the new Treasurer takes over. 2nd by Roger Miller- Village of Dorchester. Motion carried.
- C. Next meeting is scheduled for June 29th, 2023 at 7:00pm.
- D. Next meeting agenda suggestions/requests

15. Adjournment at 7:39pm. Motion moved by John Singleton-City of Seward, 2nd by Jack Oelschwager-City of Crete.

Respectfully, Angie Ostrander, Secretary