MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF ARAPAHOE-HOLBROOK PUBLIC SCHOOLS

A meeting of the Board of Education of Arapahoe-Holbrook Public Schools was convened in open and public session on Monday, February 12, 2024, at 4:00 PM in the Distance Learning Room, 610 Walnut Street, Arapahoe, NE 68922. The roll was called and the following Board members were present or

absent: Chad Carpenter: Absent, Erick Lee: Present, Nancy Schutz: Present, Dan Warner: Present, Rodney Whipple: Present, Leigh Zodrow: Present. Also present was Mr. Bob Drews, Superintendent, Mr. Rudy Perez, Secondary Principal, Mr. Benjamin Ellis, Elementary Principal, and Cassie Hilker, Board Secretary. Visitors were present.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by publication and/or posting in accordance with the Board approved method for giving notice of meetings. Notice of this meeting was given in advance to all members of the Board of Education. The Secretary of the Board maintains a list of the news media requesting notification of meetings and advance notification to the listed media of the time and place of the meeting and the subjects to be discussed at this meeting was provided. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and a current copy of the Agenda was maintained as stated in the publicized notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

Opening the Meeting:

Call to Order: President Warner called the meeting to order at 4:00 pm.

Pledge of Allegiance (Schutz): Mrs. Nancy Schutz led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Nebraska Open Meetings Act: At the beginning of the meeting, President Warner announced and informed the public that a current copy of the Open Meetings Act was posted on the wall of the meeting room and directed the public to its location.

Publication of Meeting/Sign Acknowledgement of Receipt of Meeting Notice:

Roll Call:

Excuse Board Member Absences:

Motion was made by Rodney Whipple and seconded by Erick Lee to excuse Chad Carpenter. The motion Carried. Carpenter: Absent, Lee: Yea, Schutz: Yea, Warner: Yea, Whipple: Yea, Zodrow: Yea Yea: 5, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

Welcome Visitors:

Public Comment on Agenda Items: None.

Reports:

Student Council Representatives: Annaka Wasenius and Grace Andrews presented the Student Council Report.

Board Committee(s): Lee reported that the Negotiations Committee concluded the negotiations process and the updated agreement is an action item later in the meeting. Lee reported that the Curriculum/Programs/Activities Committee met to discuss ELA quotes.

Board Member(s): Lee reported that he will be joining NASB along with other Nebraska school board members to discuss rural school issues with senators on March 6th.

Elementary Principal: Mr. Ellis presented the Elementary Principal Report.

Secondary Principal: Mr. Perez presented the Secondary Principal Report.

Superintendent: Mr. Drews presented the Superintendent Report.

Teacher Presentations - Mr. Henderson (4th Gr): Mr. Henderson shared information on his 4th grade classroom.

Discussion Item(s):

Action Item(s):

Consent Agenda, including Minutes and Financial Reports: Motion was made by Erick Lee and seconded by Leigh Zodrow to approve the consent agenda as presented. The motion Carried. Carpenter: Absent, Lee: Yea, Schutz: Yea, Warner: Yea, Whipple: Yea, Zodrow: Yea Yea: 5, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

Claims:

Motion was made by Erick Lee and seconded by Leigh Zodrow to approve the expenditures and payments totaling \$466,518.34 as submitted by administration to the Board. The motion Carried. Carpenter: Absent, Lee: Yea, Schutz: Abstain (Claim No. 37346 to Hemelstrand's for \$398.79), Warner: Yea, Whipple: Abstain (Claim No. 38326 to ATC for \$363.90), Zodrow: Yea Yea: 3, Nay: 0, Absent: 1, Abstain (With Conflict): 2

2024-2025 Negotiated Agreement:

Motion was made by Nancy Schutz and seconded by Erick Lee to approve the 2024-2025 Negotiated Agreement with the Arapahoe Education Association as presented.

The motion Carried.

Carpenter: Absent, Lee: Yea, Schutz: Yea, Warner: Yea, Whipple: Yea, Zodrow: Yea Yea: 5, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

2024-2025 ESU 11 Master Service Agreement:

Motion was made by Nancy Schutz and seconded by Leigh Zodrow to approve the ESU 11 Master Service Agreement for 2024-2025 as presented. The motion Carried.

Carpenter: Absent, Lee: Yea, Schutz: Yea, Warner: Yea, Whipple: Yea, Zodrow: Yea Yea: 5, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

2024-2025 ESU 16 Southwest NE Distance Education Network Agreement:

Motion was made by Leigh Zodrow and seconded by Nancy Schutz to approve the ESU 16 Southwest NE Distance Education Network Agreement for 2024-2025 as presented.

The motion Carried.

Carpenter: Absent, Lee: Yea, Schutz: Yea, Warner: Yea, Whipple: Yea, Zodrow: Yea Yea: 5, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

2024-2025 ESU 10 Deaf/Hard of Hearing Services Agreement:

Motion was made by Nancy Schutz and seconded by Rodney Whipple to approve the ESU 10 Deaf/Hard of Hearing Services Agreement for 2024-2025 as presented.

The motion Carried.

Carpenter: Absent, Lee: Yea, Schutz: Yea, Warner: Yea, Whipple: Yea, Zodrow: Yea Yea: 5, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

<u>Personnel</u>: Drews shared that Diane Joppa (Food Service) submitted her resignation. The full-time Food Service/Custodial position is also still open. Angel Grove and Sherri Bergman have also submitted their resignations for the end of this school year.

Certified Staff Resignations:

Motion was made by Nancy Schutz and seconded by Leigh Zodrow to accept the resignation of Molly Wendland (6th Grade Teacher), Jeff Spaulding (Industrial Technology Teacher), and Pam Breinig (School Counselor) effective at the conclusion of the 2023-2024 school year. The motion Carried.

Carpenter: Absent, Lee: Yea, Schutz: Yea, Warner: Yea, Whipple: Yea, Zodrow: Yea Yea: 5, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

Hiring of Heather Doggett as an Elementary teacher for the 2024-2025 school year:

Motion was made by Leigh Zodrow and seconded by Nancy Schutz to approve a contract with Heather Doggett as an Elementary Teacher for the 2024-2025 school year.

The motion Carried.

Carpenter: Absent, Lee: Yea, Schutz: Yea, Warner: Yea, Whipple: Yea, Zodrow: Yea Yea: 5, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

Hiring of Nicole Warner as a Speech Language Pathologist for the 2024-2025 school year:

Motion was made by Nancy Schutz and seconded by Rodney Whipple to approve a contract with Nicole Warner as a Speech and Language Pathologist for the 2024-2025 school year.

The motion Carried.

Carpenter: Absent, Lee: Yea, Schutz: Yea, Warner: Yea, Whipple: Yea, Zodrow: Yea Yea: 5, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

Public Comment - Open: None,

Future Meetings: Finance Committee Meeting - March 11, 2024 at 6:30pm; Regular Board Meeting - March 11, 2024 at 7:00pm.

Adjourn: Motion was made by Erick Lee and seconded by Leigh Zodrow to adjourn the meeting at 5:21 pm. The motion Carried. Carpenter: Absent, Lee: Yea, Schutz: Yea, Warner: Yea, Whipple: Yea, Zodrow: Yea Yea: 5, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

The meeting was duly adjourned.

DATED this Monday, February 12, 2024

ARAPHAOE-HOLBROOK PUBLIC SCHOOLS

BY:

Dan Warner, President

ATTEST: 1 the Cassie Hilker, Secretary