Minutes of the Board of Education Meeting

The Board of Education regular meeting of the Crofton Community School was held on Monday, June 9, 2025 at 6:00 pm, with the following attendance: **Absent:** Craig Marsh, **Present:** Jayne Arens, Jeremy Buschkamp, Amy Hoffman, Michael Janssen, Lisa Van Heek. Present: 5, Absent: 1.

The motion was made by Michael Janssen and seconded by Amy Hoffman to declare the meeting open and properly advertised by the certificate attached to these minutes. The motion passed by the following roll call vote. Passed - Jayne Arens: Yea, Jeremy Buschkamp: Yea, Amy Hoffman: Yea, Michael Janssen: Yea, Craig Marsh: Absent, Lisa Van Heek: Yea; Yea: 5, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

The motion was made by Jayne Arens and seconded by Lisa Van Heek to approve excusing absent board member Craig Marsh. The motion passed by the following roll call vote. Passed - Jayne Arens: Yea, Jeremy Buschkamp: Yea, Amy Hoffman: Yea, Michael Janssen: Yea, Craig Marsh: Absent, Lisa Van Heek: Yea; Yea: 5, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

The motion was made by Michael Janssen and seconded by Jeremy Buschkamp to approve the consent agenda. The motion passed by the following roll call vote. Passed - Jayne Arens: Yea, Jeremy Buschkamp: Yea, Amy Hoffman: Yea, Michael Janssen: Yea, Craig Marsh: Absent, Lisa Van Heek: Yea; Yea: 5, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

There was one person that gave public comment.

In Administrative time, Mr. Look presented his report to the Board members.

The motion was made by Amy Hoffman and seconded by Michael Janssen to approve Jami Stevens as the district census taker for 2025-2026. The motion passed by the following roll call vote. Passed - Jayne Arens: Yea, Jeremy Buschkamp: Yea, Amy Hoffman: Yea, Michael Janssen: Yea, Craig Marsh: Absent, Lisa Van Heek: Yea; Yea: 5, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

The motion was made by Jayne Arens and seconded by Jeremy Buschkamp to approve Mark Wragge as Title I LEA representative for 2025-2026. The motion passed by the following roll call vote. Passed - Jayne Arens: Yea, Jeremy Buschkamp: Yea, Amy Hoffman: Yea, Michael Janssen: Yea, Craig Marsh: Absent, Lisa Van Heek: Yea; Yea: 5, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

The motion was made by Lisa Van Heek and seconded by Michael Janssen to approve a March 16, 2026 Board of Education workshop with NASB for \$1500 or less, plus travel expenses. The motion passed by the following roll call vote. Passed - Jayne Arens: Yea, Jeremy Buschkamp: Yea, Amy Hoffman: Yea, Michael Janssen: Yea, Craig Marsh: Absent, Lisa Van Heek: Yea Yea: 5, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

The motion was made by Jeremy Buschkamp and seconded by Michael Janssen to renew the food service contract, and to increase by \$0.65, the following: K-12 breakfast (\$2.45), K-5 lunch, and 6-12 lunch (\$3.75 and \$3.90) and also increase adult prices (\$3.50/\$5.35) for the 2025-2026 school year. The motion passed by the following roll call vote. Passed - Jayne Arens: Yea,

Jeremy Buschkamp: Yea, Amy Hoffman: Yea, Michael Janssen: Yea, Craig Marsh: Absent, Lisa Van Heek: Yea; Yea: 5, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

The motion was made by Lisa Van Heek and seconded by Amy Hoffman to approve the purchase of 25 classroom desks for replacement at the high school for \$8,913.50 from Innovative, as presented. The motion passed by the following roll call vote. Passed - Jayne Arens: Yea, Jeremy Buschkamp: Yea, Amy Hoffman: Yea, Michael Janssen: Yea, Craig Marsh: Absent, Lisa Van Heek: Yea; Yea: 5, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

The motion was made by Amy Hoffman and seconded by Jayne Arens to approve a contract with Heartland Licensed Mental Health Practitioner Counseling Services for \$25,000.00 for the 2025-2026 school year. The motion passed by the following roll call vote. Passed - Jayne Arens: Yea, Jeremy Buschkamp: Yea, Amy Hoffman: Yea, Michael Janssen: Yea, Craig Marsh: Absent, Lisa Van Heek: Yea; Yea: 5, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

Mr. Ostermeyer and Mr. Wragge discussed the updates/changes to the high school and elementary handbooks, along with the updates to the staff and coaches handbooks for 2025-2026.

The motion was made by Lisa Van Heek and seconded by Amy Hoffman to approval and adoption of A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF KNOX COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT 0054 (CROFTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS) IN THE STATE OF NEBRASKA CALLING FOR A SPECIAL ELECTION TO BE HELD IN THE DISTRICT REGARDING A PROPOSITION TO ISSUE GENERAL OBLIGATION BONDS OF THE DISTRICT IN AN AMOUNT NOT TO EXCEED \$5,900,000 AND APPROVING MATTERS RELATED THERETO. The motion passed by the following roll call vote. Passed - Jayne Arens: Yea, Jeremy Buschkamp: Yea, Amy Hoffman: Yea, Michael Janssen: Nay, Craig Marsh: Absent, Lisa Van Heek: Yea; Yea: 4, Nay: 1, Absent: 1

The motion was made by Jayne Arens and seconded by Jeremy Buschkamp to set the next meeting for July 14, 2025, at 5:55 pm, and to adjourn the meeting at 7:40 pm. The motion passed by the following roll call vote. Passed - Jayne Arens: Yea, Jeremy Buschkamp: Yea, Amy Hoffman: Yea, Michael Janssen: Yea, Craig Marsh: Absent, Lisa Van Heek: Yea Yea: 5, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

Dana Wortmann, Acting Secretary