January 11, 2016 at 5:00 PM - Board of Education Regular Meeting

I. (Legal Counsel will act as Chair) - Call the Meeting to Order
I.a. Pledge of Allegiance
I.b. Announce Open Meeting Act Posting and Location - Wayne Community Schools, including the Early Learning Center, Wayne Public Library, and Wayne Post office.
I.c. Action on Absence and Roll Call
II. Organization of Board for 2016 (Board Policy 1202)
II.a. Elect: President
II.b. Elect: Vice-President
II.c. Appoint Recording Secretary
III. (President presides as Chair) - Affirm Current Policy and Regulation Manual as Governing Rules of the District as listed on the School Website: www.wayneschools.org
IV. Board of Education Committee Membership
V. Acknowledgement of State Nebraska Bank and Trust of Wayne as Depository Institution, Wayne Herald as Classified Recording Records and Pieper/Knutson as Legal Council for Annual Appointment
VI. Approval of Agenda - The Board may enter Executive Session to discuss any matter for which Executive Session is lawful and appropriate.
VII. Consent Agenda
VII.a. Approval of Minutes of Previous Meeting
VIII. Personnel
IX. Communications from the Public and requested presentations
IX.a. Principals - Draft of Walk Through Observation Tool
X. Action Items
X.a. Old Business
X.b. New Business
X.b.I. New High School Courses for Approval
X.b.I.1. Culinary Skills I
X.b.I.2. Multimedia Communications
X.b.II. Facility analysis agreement
XI. Administration and Board Committee Reports:
XI.a. Administration - Written reports were provided by Administration. Copies of their reports are available at the District Office upon request.
XI.a.I. Superintendent
XI.a.I.1. Legislative update
XI.a.I.2. Mileage Reimbursement Rates for 2016
XI.a.I.3. First Draft of 2016-2017 School Year Calendar
XI.a.I.4. NSAA District III update
XI.a.I.5. Jr/Sr High PA system
XI.a.II. High School Principal
XI.a.III. Special Education Director
XI.a.IV. Elementary Principal
XI.a.V. Junior High Principal/A.D.
XI.b. Board Committees
XI.b.I. Foundation and Community Relations - Ken Jorgensen, Rod Garwood, Carolyn Linster, Mark Lenihan, Rocky Ruhl, Lindsay McLaughlin
XI.b.II. Curriculum and Americanism - Wendy Consoli, Carolyn Linster, Jeryl Nelson, Misty Beair
XI.b.III. Facility/Safety - Travis Meyer, Scott Hammer, Ken Jorgensen, Rod Garwood, Mark Hanson
XI.b.IV. Policy/Title IX - Wendy Consoli, Scott Hammer, Jeryl Nelson, Russ Plager
XI.b.V. Finance (Inc. Transportation & Budget) - Mark Lenihan, Scott Hammer, Rod Garwood, Ken Jorgensen, Rochelle Nelson
XI.b.VI. Negotiations - Jeryl Nelson, Carolyn Linster, Wendy Consoli, Mark Lenihan
XII. Boardsmanship
XII.a. Incumbent Filing Deadlines - February 16, 2016 for Incumbents: Mr. Ken Jorgensen, Mr. Rod Garwood, Mrs. Wendy Consoli; March 1, 2016 for Non-Incumbents
XII.b. School Board Recognition Week January 31 - February 6
XII.c. Honor Coffee 6:30 p.m.
XIII. Future Agenda Items
XIII.a. Tour of Jr/Sr High School
XIII.b. Pilot Program Discussion for Improvement of Reading Scores
XIV. Executive Session (If Needed)
XV. Action Taken from Executive Session (If Needed)
XVI. Adjournment
<< Back to the Public Page for Wayne Community Schools