City Council Regular Meeting Monday, November 18, 2019 7:00 PM City Hall 715 Front Street Gibbon, NE 68840

- 1. Opening Procedures
 - 1.1. Call to Order
 - 1.2. Pledge of Allegiance
 - 1.3. Announcement of Open Meetings Act

This is an open meeting of the Gibbon City Council. The City of Gibbon abides by the Open Meetings Act in conducting business. A copy of the Open Meetings Act is displayed on the north wall of the Council Chambers as required by state law.

- 1.4. Roll Call
- 2. Submittal of Requests for Future Items
- 3. Reserve Time to Speak on Agenda Items
- 4. Presentations and Proclamations
 - 4.1. Buffalo County Sheriff Department-Contract Law Enforcement
 - 4.1.1. Report on Monthly Contract Law Enforcement Activities
 - 4.2. Mayor Report--Deb VanMatre
 - 4.2.1. Recognitions

- 4.2.1.1. Gibbon Public Library-Scholastic 2019 Top Library
- 4.2.1.2. Rick Brown-ServeNebraska Step Forward Award
- 4.2.2. City Treasurer
 - 4.2.2.1. Removal of Tonniges & Associates
 - 4.2.2.2. Recommended Appointment of Susan Tonniges
- 4.2.3. Change In Residential Rate for Collection of Garbage
- 4.2.4. Keno Ordinance and License Procedure
- 4.3. City Attorney Report--Barry Hemmerling
- 4.4. City Administrator Report--Chris Rector
 - 4.4.1. Report on City Operations
- 4.5. Presentation by Genie Andrews and Quinton Randel with gWorks
 - 4.5.1. SimpleCity Cloud Physical Asset Management
- 4.6. Keno-Michael Nevrivy and Trevor Reeder
 - 4.6.1. Request for Approval of Hastings Keno, Inc. as Lottery Operator
- 5. Public Hearing
- 6. Ordinance

- 6.1. Ordinance No. 610--AN ORDINANCE OF THE CITY OF GIBBON, BUFFALO COUNTY, NEBRASKA, AMENDING SECTION 3-404 OF THE MUNICIPAL CODE TO CHANGE THE RESIDENTIAL RATE FOR COLLECTION OF GARBAGE
- 6.2. Ordinance No. 611--AN ORDINANCE OF THE CITY OF GIBBON, BUFFALO COUNTY, NEBRASKA TO ESTABLISH AND CONDUCT A LOTTERY IN THE CITY.
- 6.3. Ordinance No. 2019-612--AN ORDINANCE OF THE CITY OF GIBBON, BUFFALO COUNTY, NEBRASKA TO PROVIDE FOR LOTTERY SALES OUTLET LOCATIONS, QUALIFICATION STANDARDS AND ESTABLISH APPROVAL REQUIRED.
- 6.4. Ordinance No. 2019-613--AN ORDINANCE OF THE CITY OF GIBBON, BUFFALO COUNTY, NEBRASKA TO ESTABLISH WHO MAY PARTICIPATE IN PLAYING THE LOTTERY AND ESTABLISH RESTRICTIONS.
- 7. Consent Agenda
 - 7.1. Approval of the Minutes of the October 21, 2019 Council Meeting
 - 7.2. Approval of Claims for the Month of November
 - 7.3. Approval of Reports of Departments, Boards, and Commissions
 - 7.3.1. Buffalo County Sheriff Department Report
 - 7.3.2. Treatment Plant Report & Water Report
 - 7.3.3. Planning Commission Report
 - 7.3.4. Building Permits:
 - 7.3.4.1. Permit # 2019-30--C.L. & Sandra Sell--Residential Addition--404 South Wind Drive

- 7.3.4.2. Permit # 2019-31--Craig & Barb Brown--Fence--514 May Avenue
- 7.3.4.3. Permit # 2019-32--Tom Sommerfeld--Garden Shed--610 River Street
- 7.3.5. Library Report
- 7.3.6. Heritage Center Report
- 8. Resolutions and Motions
 - 8.1. Consider Approval of gWorks Contract for SimpleCity Cloud Physical Asset Management Implementation & Subscription
 - 8.2. Consider approval of Resolution # 2019-13 for Participating Members of LARM to Ratify the Elections of Members of the LARM Board of Directors Resolution No. 2019-13 RESOLUTION FOR "PARTICIPATING MEMBERS" OF LARM TO RATIFY THE ELECTIONS OF MEMBERS OF THE LARM BOARD OF DIRECTORS

WHEREAS, City of Gibbon is a "participating member" of the League Association of Risk Management ("LARM"); and

WHEREAS, the Interlocal Agreement that formed and continues to govern LARM provides in 8.1.4.2. that "Each participating member may cast one vote for each of the open Board positions."; and

WHEREAS, the following 15 individuals were elected by LARM members at a Members Meeting on March 21, 2018, which terms commenced effective January 1, 2018:

Name	Term	Member
Mayor Doug Hanson	3	Hickman
James (Jim) Hawks	3	North Platte
Melissa Harrell	3	Wahoo
Jo Leyland	3	Imperial
Lanette Doane	3	Ansley
Nathan Johnson	2	Scottsbluff
Mayor Scott Getzschman	2	Fremont
Teresa Bartlett	2	Beaver City
Mayor Josh Moenning	2	Norfolk
LeAnn Brown	2	Oshkosh

Tom Ourada	1	Crete
Sandra Schendt	1	Nelson
Mayor Deb Van Matre	1	Gibbon
Douglas Schultz	1	Curtis
Pamela Buethe	1	Sarpy SID #29

WHEREAS, at a LARM Members Meeting on September 19, 2018, the five individuals listed above who were initially elected to one-year terms—Tom Ourada, Sandra Schendt, Mayor Deb Van Matre, Douglas Schultz, and Pamela Buethe—were re-elected to three-year terms commencing effective January 1, 2019.

WHEREAS, at a LARM Members Meeting on September 18, 2019, the five individuals listed above who were initially elected to two-year terms—Nathan Johnson, Mayor Scott Getzschman, Teresa Bartlett (now Teresa Youngquist), Mayor Josh Moenning, and LeAnn Brown—were re-elected to three-year terms commencing effective January 1, 2020.

WHEREAS, the remaining five individuals listed above who were initially elected to three-year terms—Mayor Doug Hanson, James (Jim) Hawks, Melissa Harrell, Jo Leyland, and Lanette Doane—continue to serve on the LARM Board of Directors, and their terms will expire on December 31, 2020, unless they are re-elected to a second term at a LARM Members Meeting to take place in 2020.

WHEREAS, in order to avoid any doubt as to its assent to the election and re-election of the members of the LARM Board of Directors as stated above, City of Gibbonwishes to ratify the election and re-election of the LARM Board of Directors.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that City of Gibbonhereby ratifies and confirms its assent to the election and re-election of the LARM Board of Directors as stated above.

- 8.3. Consider Approval of Susan Tonniges as City Treasurer
- 8.4. Consider Approval to Change the December Regular Council Meeting to 6:00 p.m.
- 9. Requests and Referrals
- 10. Other Items
 - 10.1. Accept Resignation of Kevin Hynes as Ward 2 Council Member and Declare Open Seat
 - 10.2. Next Regular Council Meeting will be on Monday, December 16, 2019 at 6:00 p.m.
- 11. Adjourn